Forensic Healthcare Online

On-line continuing education information for forensic healthcare professionals

An FHO Extra: 10 Free iPhone Apps for Forensic Clinicians

leave a comment »

Many of us have made the leap to the iPhone, and while the vast majority of apps on my phone are for non-work related activities (i.e. finding food and satisfying my news addiction), there are some good ones out there that can benefit the forensic clinician (although I have yet to find a single one that is specific to forensic clinicians, so I guess there’s a project for another day). Below are 10 iPhone apps that are both free and (potentially) helpful. If there are others you like, do me a favor and leave a comment, since this is certainly not the definitive list of what’s out there…

In no particular order:

  1. PubMed On Tap Lite: I fully embrace my inner-geek with this one. Research at my fingertips does things to me I cannot possibly explain…
  2. Medscape: Yeah, it’s old school in a lot of ways, but these guys offer a multitasker that I really appreciate. A regularly updated drug database, CE offerings, medical news and customizable search makes this one a must for me.
  3. ABA Journal: Admittedly, not everyone will find this one useful. But I hang out with lawyers all day, so it comes in handy.
  4. iProcrastinate Mobile: It’s a task manager and it makes my life just a bit more organized. Perfect for helping to keep all those balls in the air. List-making AND color coordination: two great tastes…
  5. Taber’s Medical Dictionary: Because sometimes at 2am I can’t remember if it’s cephalad or caudal
  6. ReachMD: Medical news that satisfies my short attention span.
  7. Nikon Learn & Explore: Photo tips and a glossary that’s pretty impressive. It’s not essential, but it’s cool nonetheless.
  8. Stat ICD-9 Lite: For those of you who are the boss of your own billing, here’s the info at your fingertips.
  9. Pedi Stat: A rapid reference for anyone caring for critically ill or injured kids.
  10. Byline: Okay, this one isn’t free (it’s $3.99), but I use it more than any other app on my phone. It brings my Google Reader to me no matter where I am in the world. Chances are good that if you see me standing in an airport security line or other endless tangle of humanity, it’s what I’m reading.
Written by Jenifer

November 1, 2009 at 2:56 pm

Posted in General

Leave a Reply

